In the News

June 26, 2013

University of the Philippines Gawad Plaridel is awarded to Pete Lacaba

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2013 U.P. Gawad Plaridel in the person of MR. JOSE F. LACABA, also known as PETE LACABA. Mr. Lacaba has put his considerable writing and communication skills, despite perils to his life, in the service of the Filipino struggle for social transformation, independence, and progress during the turbulent 1960s and 1970s through the Days of Disquiet, Nights of Rage collection and other articles and screenplays that were based on actual events and issues such as Sister Stella L., Bayan Ko: Kapit sa Patalim, and Orapronobis.

He has shown unparalleled dedication to the profession of writing through a variety of forms in which he excelled – poetry, essay, fiction, feature articles, interviews, translations, adaptations, and screenplays in both English and Filipino. He also raised the bar of excellence for literary journalism to a level unprecedented in the history of Philippine contemporary journalism.

The Gawad Plaridel award comes with a trophy specially designed by National Artist, Dean Napoleon V. Abueva, which will be awarded to Mr. Lacaba by University of the Philippines President Alfredo E. Pascual and U.P. Diliman Chancellor Caesar A. Saloma in ceremonies on July 24, 2013, 2:00 pm at the U.P. Film Institute Film Center’s Cine Adarna. Mr. Lacaba will deliver a lecture during the ceremonies.

Established by the U.P. College of Mass Communication, the annual U.P. Gawad Plaridel recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, and television) and have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public servic

e. The U.P. Gawad Plaridel’s roster of honorees include Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, film), Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Mr. Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent filmmaking), Ms. Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), and Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television).

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad helped crystallize nationalist sentiments and ignite libertarian ideas in the 1890s. Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in the vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that is socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent. #

 DSC_0136 DSC_0132DSC_0127 Alex DSC_0265Alex DSC_0247Alex DSC_0243Alex DSC_0228Alex DSC_0226Alex DSC_0224Alex DSC_0220Alex DSC_0212Alex DSC_0209Alex DSC_0204Alex DSC_0201Alex DSC_0176Alex DSC_0174Alex DSC_0132Alex DSC_0044Alex DSC_0039DSC_0146